Decision briefPublic-policy proposalReviewed 2026-10-04
For low-income families with a child under five, decide what Universal Credit should cover — and compare it with a home and with early-years help
The thread: issue, evidence, action
- Issue Weakness: 27.4% of children (4.0 million) were in relative poverty after housing costs, and 13% were in deep material poverty, lacking at least four of thirteen essentials. Also: opportunity, strength
- Evidence Children in deep material poverty; Children in relative poverty after housing costs
- Action Set an explicit test for whether benefits cover essentials
- Decision required
- DWP and the Treasury commission a published test of whether Universal Credit covers essentials for named family types, starting with low-income families with a child under five, and cost the options against today’s legislated rates — beside a social-rent home and integrated early-years help for the same families.
- Who and where
- Households on Universal Credit in Great Britain with a youngest child under five and little other income; eligible families who do not claim are noted but not reached by a rate change. Applies in: Great Britain.
- Accountable body
- Department for Work and Pensions with HM Treasury
- Intervention
- Publish an essentials benchmark for named family types and cost options to close the gap, with a government response at each uprating.
- Best evidence, and where it applies
- JRF estimates the April 2026 standard allowance (about £98 a week, single adult 25+) is below its destitution line (£105) and its essentials estimate with Trussell (£120). A December 2025 DWP evidence review found regular extra income for low-income families improved some children’s outcomes in large overseas trials, but UK studies found smaller or no effects.Studied in: Illustrative single adults and couples on Universal Credit, UK (2026–27 benefit rates).How closely the comparison transfers to this decision: New Zealand (Welfare Expert Advisory Group) and Australia (Economic Inclusion Advisory Committee) — partial.
- Extra cost of this change
- Capital: none identified in the brief.Recurring: Independent advisory body or panel (secretariat, research, consultation) — Not yet costed; Any change in Universal Credit rates following the benchmark — Not yet costed.
- Funding
- Not funded: no funding route identified yet.Committed to this change: none.Possible source, not an award: none identified.Unfunded: Unknown: depends entirely on the option chosen; nothing is allocated.
- Savings and wider benefits
- Not yet specified: no cashable saving or avoided cost has been costed for this change. Expected outcomes are listed one by one in the research appendix and are never added together or counted as money available.
- First 90-day step
- Publish the remit, the essentials basket method and the household types (including families with a child under five), with the options to be costed against the 2025 Act path.The proposed first milestone; a 90-day date is not yet specified. Owner: DWP with HM Treasury. Proposed by UK Facts, not an official deadline.
- Twelve-month milestone
- Not yet specified.Time to a first useful result: A first benchmark and costing could inform the following uprating review; any effect on hardship is visible only in survey data a year or more after rates change.
- Outcome, and when to scale or stop
- Measure: The published gap between each household type’s award and the benchmark, and whether the government’s uprating response addresses it.Scale if: The benchmark is used in uprating decisions and hardship among the named family types falls relative to the comparison when awards move towards it.Stop if: The benchmark is not used in uprating decisions over successive reviews, or hardship does not change after awards move towards it; then review the remit rather than keep a body that changes nothing.
- Main trade-off
- A benchmark builds pressure for large recurring spending that must be paid for by tax, cuts or borrowing; the money is then not available for homes or services, which help these families in different ways and over different time horizons.
- Source and review date
- Independent process to ensure Universal Credit covers essential costs (briefing) (30 January 2026); Costs of Child Poverty: a rapid evidence review of the effect of income on child outcomes (5 December 2025). Reviewed 2026-10-04.
An editorial proposal by UK Facts for discussion, not government policy. Records: A16 · effects E-A16-HARDSHIP, E-A16-FISCAL · costs C-A16-BODY, C-A16-RATES
Research appendix: study design, effect sizes and limits, alternatives, full costing, international comparisons and how we would know
1.The change, in plain words
For low-income families with a child under five, decide what Universal Credit should cover — and compare it with a home and with early-years help
2.The decision requested
- Decision
- Commission and publish, before the next uprating review, an essentials benchmark for named household types (starting with a lone parent and a couple each with one child under five, renting) and a distributional costing of two or three named options against the Universal Credit Act 2025 path; and require a published government response at each uprating review.
- Accountable institution
- Department for Work and Pensions with HM Treasury
- Geography
- Great Britain
- Powers
- A non-statutory advisory panel and costing can be set up under existing ministerial powers; a statutory body or duty would need primary legislation; changing rates uses the annual uprating order or primary legislation (the Universal Credit Act 2025 sets a minimum path for the standard allowance to 2029–30).
- Delivery partners
- Independent experts in household budgets (for example the Minimum Income Standard team at Loughborough University); Office for Budget Responsibility (certifying costings); Social Security Advisory Committee; Scottish Government (interaction with the Scottish Child Payment); Local authorities (housing support and local welfare)
3.Who it is for, and what changes beyond today
- Target population
- Households on Universal Credit in Great Britain with a youngest child under five and little other income; eligible families who do not claim are noted but not reached by a rate change.
- Eligibility
- Universal Credit entitlement under current rules. The benchmark’s household types are chosen first; pensioners and disability benefits are outside this test unless the remit is widened.
- Scale
- A national rate decision once taken, but the first step is bounded: two or three household types and two or three costed options. Caseload numbers come from DWP’s own data when the options are costed; none is invented here.
- Baseline
- From April 2026 the Universal Credit standard allowance is about £98 a week for a single adult aged 25 or over and £154 for a couple, against JRF destitution thresholds of £105 and £160 and the JRF/Trussell essentials estimate of £120 and £205 (JRF, January 2026). The Universal Credit Act 2025 sets a minimum path for the standard allowance, ending at least 4.8% above inflation-only uprating by 2029–30. The two-child limit on the child element is removed from April 2026, at a forecast cost of £2.4bn in 2026–27 rising to £3.2bn in 2030–31.
Source: Joseph Rowntree Foundation, Independent process to ensure Universal Credit covers essential costs (briefing) (Section 2 (standard allowance against destitution and essentials)); legislation.gov.uk, Universal Credit Act 2025 (c. 22) (Section 1(2) and 1(4)); HM Treasury, Budget 2025 (HC 1492) (Table 1.2 (printed p.22); Box 2.A (printed p.31); para 4.9 (printed p.96))
- Change beyond existing law or funding
- Rates already rise on a legislated minimum path and the two-child limit is going. What is added is a published test of what the rates are meant to cover for named family types, an independent costing of named options against that path, and a duty on ministers to respond each year. Ministers and Parliament still decide the rates.
4.How it would work
Do: Publish an essentials benchmark for named family types and cost options to close the gap, with a government response at each uprating Changing: a visible gap between Universal Credit and the cost of essentials, so that uprating decisions are made against a stated standard
Less material hardship among families on Universal Credit with a young child
Hypothesis to testEffect record E-A16-HARDSHIP
Happens only if rates actually move; how much depends on the option, take-up and housing costs. The effect record is a plausible link, not an evaluated effect.
Better school readiness and health for the youngest children
Hypothesis to test
Large US and Canadian trials of regular payments found modest gains; UK studies found smaller or no effects (DWP rapid evidence review, 2025). Not a forecast for this change.
Higher recurring benefit spending (a cost, not a benefit)
Hypothesis to testEffect record E-A16-FISCAL
Every year once rates change; size depends on the option and has not been costed on the current baseline.
Outcomes are kept separate and never added into one impact figure.
5.Best evidence
Independent process to ensure Universal Credit covers essential costs (briefing)
- Author or institution:
- Joseph Rowntree Foundation (policy briefing; essentials estimate produced with the Trussell Trust)
- Published:
- 30 January 2026
- Evaluation period:
- 2026–27 benefit rates
- Design:
- Comparison of Universal Credit rates with the proposers’ own destitution and essentials estimates; review of advisory-body models (Low Pay Commission, New Zealand, Australia)
- Sample or population:
- Illustrative single adults and couples on Universal Credit, UK
- Effect and uncertainty:
- Standard allowance below destitution thresholds (£98 against £105 single; £154 against £160 couple) and below the essentials estimate (£120; £205). No effect estimate; no costing of the body or of rate changes.
- Limits:
- An essentials basket is a normative choice by the proposers; it is advocacy-linked analysis, not an evaluation, and does not model families with children or housing costs here.
Where: Briefing sections 1–3. Affiliation is provenance, not proof of quality.
Costs of Child Poverty: a rapid evidence review of the effect of income on child outcomes
- Author or institution:
- Department for Work and Pensions (research by Verian)
- Published:
- 5 December 2025
- Evaluation period:
- Journal studies published since 1997 (working papers since 2017), mostly from the US, Canada and Latin America
- Design:
- Rapid evidence review of 35 randomised and quasi-experimental studies of income in pregnancy or childhood
- Sample or population:
- Low-income families with children; five UK studies
- Effect and uncertainty:
- School readiness improved in 5 of 13 studies (pooled large trials imply about 2.8 percentage points more children reaching a good level of development per £1,090 a year); health improved in 5 of 9. Baby bonuses and the UK two-child-limit study showed no school-readiness effect.
- Limits:
- Most studies are from outside the UK; the UK studies were less likely to find effects; payments were regular and sustained, unlike a one-off rise.
Where: Summary; chapter 1 and 2 conclusions. Affiliation is provenance, not proof of quality.
6.Alternatives, counter-evidence and who loses
- Closest feasible alternative
- Spend the same money on the other two routes for the same families: social-rent homes that move families out of temporary accommodation (national brief on housing), or integrated early-years help where access is weakest (national brief on early years).
- Strongest counter-evidence
- UK studies in the DWP review were less likely than overseas trials to find effects of extra income on children’s outcomes, and the UK two-child-limit study found no effect on school readiness. A benchmark also turns a political judgement into an apparently technical one.
Source: Department for Work and Pensions (research by Verian), Costs of Child Poverty: a rapid evidence review of the effect of income on child outcomes (Summary (limitations); school readiness chapter); Joseph Rowntree Foundation, Independent process to ensure Universal Credit covers essential costs (briefing) (Section 3)
- Distributional effects
- Gains for families on Universal Credit with the least other income; none for eligible non-claimants; some of a rise can be absorbed by rents where housing support is capped. Costs fall on taxpayers or on whatever spending is cut. Pensioners and disabled people outside the remit are not reached.
- Main downside
- Recurring cost that competes directly with homes and services for the same families, and a benchmark ministers may then decline to meet, which can erode trust.
| Option | Who is reached | Evidence | Likely outcome and timing | Cost and funding | Main trade-off |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| The proposalAn essentials benchmark and costed uprating options for families with a child under five (this brief) | Every claiming family of the named types; not eligible non-claimants | Untested proposal; overseas trials show modest child gains from regular income, UK studies weaker | Income gain from the first uprating that moves awards; hardship change measurable after a year or more | Body small but not costed; rate changes potentially large and recurring; nothing allocated | Recurring cost; competes with homes and services |
| Current policyCurrent policy: the legislated standard-allowance path to 2029–30 and removal of the two-child limit from April 2026 | All Universal Credit claimants; larger families gain most from the two-child change | Government forecasts 450,000 fewer children in poverty from the two-child change; no essentials test | From April 2026 onwards | Two-child change forecast at £2.4bn in 2026–27 rising to £3.2bn in 2030–31; funded in Budget 2025 | No stated standard for what rates should cover |
| AlternativeSocial-rent homes to move families out of temporary accommodation | Homeless families in temporary accommodation and on waiting lists in a given area | See the national decision brief: effects on families are plausible links, not evaluated here | Years: homes must be bought or built | Capital-heavy; programme envelope exists, no project allocation | Helps fewer families, more deeply; slow |
| AlternativeIntegrated early-years help where access is weakest | Children under five and parents in areas with weak access who use the service | See the national decision brief: Sure Start evaluation found fewer hospital admissions and slightly better GCSEs | Use within a year; child outcomes over many years | Programme backing announced; local allocation varies | Reaches families who use services; no immediate cash |
The options compared, including current policy
The proposal
An essentials benchmark and costed uprating options for families with a child under five (this brief)
- Who is reached
- Every claiming family of the named types; not eligible non-claimants
- Evidence
- Untested proposal; overseas trials show modest child gains from regular income, UK studies weaker
- Likely outcome and timing
- Income gain from the first uprating that moves awards; hardship change measurable after a year or more
- Cost and funding
- Body small but not costed; rate changes potentially large and recurring; nothing allocated
- Main trade-off
- Recurring cost; competes with homes and services
Current policy
Current policy: the legislated standard-allowance path to 2029–30 and removal of the two-child limit from April 2026
- Who is reached
- All Universal Credit claimants; larger families gain most from the two-child change
- Evidence
- Government forecasts 450,000 fewer children in poverty from the two-child change; no essentials test
- Likely outcome and timing
- From April 2026 onwards
- Cost and funding
- Two-child change forecast at £2.4bn in 2026–27 rising to £3.2bn in 2030–31; funded in Budget 2025
- Main trade-off
- No stated standard for what rates should cover
Alternative
Social-rent homes to move families out of temporary accommodation
- Who is reached
- Homeless families in temporary accommodation and on waiting lists in a given area
- Evidence
- See the national decision brief: effects on families are plausible links, not evaluated here
- Likely outcome and timing
- Years: homes must be bought or built
- Cost and funding
- Capital-heavy; programme envelope exists, no project allocation
- Main trade-off
- Helps fewer families, more deeply; slow
Alternative
Integrated early-years help where access is weakest
- Who is reached
- Children under five and parents in areas with weak access who use the service
- Evidence
- See the national decision brief: Sure Start evaluation found fewer hospital admissions and slightly better GCSEs
- Likely outcome and timing
- Use within a year; child outcomes over many years
- Cost and funding
- Programme backing announced; local allocation varies
- Main trade-off
- Reaches families who use services; no immediate cash
7.What other countries or the devolved nations show
Country lesson · New Zealand (Welfare Expert Advisory Group) and Australia (Economic Inclusion Advisory Committee), New Zealand: group mandated in 2018, increases implemented 2019–2022; Australia: committee established 2023
Independent advice on benefit levels in New Zealand and Australia
Evidence: Expert or audit recommendationPartial match: some conditions differ
- What was changed
- New Zealand: a one-off 11-member expert group reviewed the whole system and recommended benefit rates built from budgets for core spending and minimal participation. Australia: a permanent statutory committee reports on the adequacy of income support at least two weeks before each federal budget. In both, ministers keep the decision.
- Study design and population
- Described in a UK policy briefing (JRF, January 2026). No evaluation of either body’s effect on hardship was found; the primary New Zealand and Australian documents could not be read in this review. Working-age people on main benefits (New Zealand) and on unemployment and related payments (Australia).
- Measured outcome there
- No measured effect on hardship. Institutional outcome only: New Zealand implemented the recommended increases in steps between 2019 and 2022; in Australia the government did not fully adopt the 2023 recommended increases, delivered a substantial but smaller uprating and later made selected uplifts short of what the committee advised.
- Cost status
- Not established for either body or for the rate rises.
- What failed or remains uncertain
- An advisory body does not guarantee adequacy: Australia shows recommendations can be largely set aside; New Zealand’s rises came alongside other changes, so any effect on hardship cannot be attributed to the group.
- Why the UK differs
- Universal Credit combines adult, child and housing elements with deductions, and its standard allowance is on a legislated minimum path to 2029–30; the UK has a precedent in the Low Pay Commission, whose remit is pay, not benefits.
- First change required here
- Specify the basket and household types and require a published government response at each uprating review, so that any gap between advice and decision is visible.
Not a UK forecast: the effect above was measured in that place and population. Source: Joseph Rowntree Foundation, Independent process to ensure Universal Credit covers essential costs (briefing) (Section 3 (Economic Inclusion Advisory Committee; Welfare Expert Advisory Group; Low Pay Commission)). Reviewed 2026-10-04.
8.What delivery needs first
- data — DWP caseload, take-up and housing-support data by household type to cost options and show who gains. (Requirement; owner: DWP analysts)
- staff — Independent analysts able to price essentials by household type, with a published method. (Requirement; owner: DWP (commissioning))
- law — Primary legislation only if the body or the duty to respond is made statutory; rate changes beyond the 2025 Act path need an uprating order or legislation. (Requirement; owner: DWP; Parliament)
- dependency — Recurring Treasury funding for any rate change: without a tax, spending or borrowing decision the benchmark changes nothing for families. (Genuine veto: nothing proceeds without it; owner: HM Treasury)
- public consent — Agreement on what counts as an essential and public attitudes to benefit spending. (Requirement; owner: DWP ministers; Parliament)
9.What it would cost
How the cost is built up: Advisory body running cost + (for each option) caseload by household type × change in weekly award × 52, net of interactions with housing support and tax, against the 2025 Act baseline. The two lines are never added to a single price until an option is chosen.
| Component | Unit and quantity | Unit cost or amount | Type, price year, period | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Independent advisory body or panel (secretariat, research, consultation)One standing body advising on Universal Credit rates, Great Britain | per year; quantity to be set from need and capacity | Not yet costed (ledger C-A16-BODY) | recurring; price year not stated; Each year | Not yet established Source: Joseph Rowntree Foundation, Independent process to ensure Universal Credit covers essential costs (briefing) (Section 3) |
| Any change in Universal Credit rates following the benchmarkUniversal Credit households in Great Britain; depends on the option chosen | per year; quantity to be set from need and capacity | Not yet costed (ledger C-A16-RATES) | recurring; price year not stated; Every year once rates change | Not yet established Source: Joseph Rowntree Foundation, Independent process to ensure Universal Credit covers essential costs (briefing) (Section 2) |
Independent advisory body or panel (secretariat, research, consultation)
One standing body advising on Universal Credit rates, Great Britain
Not yet costed (ledger C-A16-BODY)
recurring; price year not stated; Each year; Not yet established
Source: Joseph Rowntree Foundation, Independent process to ensure Universal Credit covers essential costs (briefing) (Section 3)
Any change in Universal Credit rates following the benchmark
Universal Credit households in Great Britain; depends on the option chosen
Not yet costed (ledger C-A16-RATES)
recurring; price year not stated; Every year once rates change; Not yet established
Source: Joseph Rowntree Foundation, Independent process to ensure Universal Credit covers essential costs (briefing) (Section 2)
10.Who pays, and what is missing
- Programme envelope (a possible route, not an award)
- None identified
- Allocation committed to this change
- None
- Remaining gap
- Unknown: depends entirely on the option chosen; nothing is allocated.
- Proposed financing
- None proposed. The advisory body is a small DWP administrative cost; any rate change needs a recurring Treasury decision (tax, spending cuts or borrowing) matched to an OBR-certified costing.
- Responsible payer
- central government
- Budget displaced
- Money for higher rates is not available for social-rent homes, early-years services, employment support or debt reduction.
11.First milestone and time to a useful result
Publish the remit, the essentials basket method and the household types (including families with a child under five), with the options to be costed against the 2025 Act path. (Owner: DWP with HM Treasury. Proposed by UK Facts, not an official deadline.)
Time to first useful result: A first benchmark and costing could inform the following uprating review; any effect on hardship is visible only in survey data a year or more after rates change.
What could delay it: Agreement on the basket and household types DWP analytical capacity alongside other reforms A Treasury fiscal event willing to consider the options
12.How we would know
- Baseline
- Material deprivation and food insecurity among families on Universal Credit with a child under five (DWP Households Below Average Income and Family Resources Survey), and the published gap between each household type’s award and the benchmark.
- Comparison
- Families just above and below the age or household-type boundary of any change, or households not affected, with trends before and after each uprating; the housing and early-years options are compared on their own outcomes and time horizons, never added together.
- Leading indicator
- The published gap between each household type’s award and the benchmark, and whether the government’s uprating response addresses it.
- Follow-up
- Annually after each uprating: hardship and food insecurity, income after housing costs, employment and caseload, and take-up; children’s outcomes only through existing cohort studies over several years.
- Continue if
- The benchmark is used in uprating decisions and hardship among the named family types falls relative to the comparison when awards move towards it.
- Adapt if
- Rises are absorbed by rents or deductions: widen the test to housing support and deductions.
- Stop if
- The benchmark is not used in uprating decisions over successive reviews, or hardship does not change after awards move towards it; then review the remit rather than keep a body that changes nothing.
- Thresholds
- Not yet set: No business case or evaluation design exists; levels depend on the options costed and the survey sample sizes for the named family types.
What is not yet known, and how to find out
- What does each option cost, and who gains and loses? (cost)Next step: Commission a distributional costing of two or three named options against the 2025 Act baseline.Scope: Universal Credit standard allowance and child elements for named household types, Great Britain, five years · Data or quotes needed: DWP caseload and take-up by household type, housing-support interactions, OBR behavioural assumptions · Who can estimate it: DWP analysts, certified by the Office for Budget Responsibility
- What would an advisory body cost to run? (cost)Next step: Scope the secretariat and research budget against comparable bodies.Scope: Secretariat, research and consultation for one standing body · Data or quotes needed: Staffing plan and research budget; published running costs of comparable bodies used as context only · Who can estimate it: DWP
- Would higher awards reduce hardship and improve young children’s outcomes in the UK? (effect)Next step: Evaluate each uprating against the benchmark using existing survey data before treating any child-outcome effect as established.Defensible route: evaluation of existing delivery
- What should the essentials basket contain for a family with a young child? (data)Next step: Consult on the basket method and household types before any figures are published.
Sources last checked 4 October 2026 · Owner: Evidence editor (James Harris) · Next check: ONS effects of taxes and benefits on UK household income: financial year ending 2025 (5 November 2026, provisional) or the first trigger: DWP households below average income (annual, usually March).